RTF/ODF Scan for Zotero

• OK. I'll try. Thanks.
    Actually I found this plugin some hours ago, so I'm not good at managing it.

Thanks again.
  • @Rintze et al.

The translator install failure has been fixed in a fresh release of the plugin.
  • edited November 30, 2016
    I tried the plugin. It's wonderful. It's what I has looked for.

The original RTF scan function doesn't work for Korean, which is 2-byte language. Until now, I haven't be able to use Zotero scan. So ODF scan plugin is a wonderful alternative. How happy I am!

I have one suggestion.

My goal is to make .doc files using Scrivener and Zotero.

Yesterday, I wrote some lines with footnotes and Zotero scannable cites in Scrivener and compiled it into .odt file. When I opened the file on OpenOffice, footnotes are turned into plain text. That is, although contents of footnotes were alive, they were in plain text with connections broken.

So I had to compile the file into .doc file on Scrivener, open it, save as .odf file on OpenOffice, scan it with RTF/ODF plugin, open .odf file, and re-save it as .doc file on OpenOffice.

As a result, I got what I wanted. It was good, but a little bit complicated.

My suggestion:
    Would you modify or make plugin to scan .doc file using Scannable Cite?
    I think it will be a good news for 2-byte language users like me.

Thanks.
  • it'd be .docx, not .doc and it would require basically a complete rewrite of the most complicated part of the code (the one that parses the markers from the file and replaces them with LO Reference Marks/Word Fields, which I'm afraid neither fbennett nor I have the capacity for (in his case mostly time, in my case a mix of time and ability). We'd be happy to take pull requests, of course.
  • Thanks for your kind reply.
    I hope someday I can use the plugin scanning .docx.
  • Hi @adamsmith, @fbennett, and others,