Batch: Change information of a field for many items

I'm trying to change some information in certain fields of the items stored. Let's see filling out (the same) publication for many items. I wonder if there is an easy way to change them in one shot like a batch or something? Thanks in advance.
  • @Gracile
    Thanks a lot buddy. btw, do I have to download firefox to use it or I just install it in Zotero like any other add-ons?
  • I'm not sure that ExecuteJS could work in Standalone, indeed.
  • @gracile I tried to look it up but didn't find anything useful. Please forgive me that I'm not a programmer. Could you pls tell me that how to use it? Are there any more detailed instructions you can offer? Should I open somewhere in Firefox? How could I use the add-on and run the code?
  • Last I checked, ExecuteJS didn't work in Zotero Standalone.
  • @bwiernik You mean I can use it in Z standalone or it simply just doesn't work (i.e. unable to batch edit)? Are there any instructions for its usage?
  • You cannot use ExecuteJS to do do batch editing or other JavaScript functions in Zotero Standalone. If you have Zotero for Firefox installed, you can load ExecuteJS in Firefox and run commands to Zotero through the JavaScript API. It's not user friendly at all, unfortunately, and this option will stop working when Zotero 5.0 is released (when only Standalone will be available).
  • @bwiernik thanks for the clarification. I have actually read a lot of request and discussions about batch editing, and some of them appear to be even from years ago. I'm just curious if the batch editing will come to Zotero Standalone since users are just told that it's planned for a long time.
  • Batch editing Zoteor Standalone is definitely planned. I'm not a developer, so I can't promise any sort of ETA on when it will be implemented.
  • @liqianjv :
    @dstillman wrote in 2015 : "Batch editing is the first priority after the new types and fields, FWIW.", i.e. not before Zotero 5.2