RTF/ODF Scan for Zotero

Frank Bennett (who did most of the work) and I (who did most of the cheerleading) are excited to announce Zotero RTF/ODF Scan, a plugin that allows you to use Zotero (properly) with any word processor capable of saving/exporting ODF format, including google doc and Scrivener.
Go here for download and instructions
http://zotero-odf-scan.github.io/zotero-odf-scan/

See here for more extended instruction with images:
http://zoteromusings.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/announcing-rtfodf-scan-for-zotero/

Please post all problems and questions here
  • Sebastian is too modest to say so, but the plugin would not have happened without his input on documentation and coding.

We're keen to see users get the most out of this new bridge between Zotero and the various writing platforms in use out there. If you run into snags, please do let us know with a post to this thread.
  • Hello!

I'm new to Scrivener and have been trying to figure out how to use it with Zotero. This is definitely an improvement over the old system. Thanks for this!

Is there any way of hiding the Zotero markers when working on text in Scrivener? I find the markers are distraction, especially the ones with multiple references. They can be quite long.

Thanks!
  • no, unfortunately not - the reason this works reliably across different word processors is that it's just plain text.
    It's possible to shorten the markers - e.g. you can manually remove the title of the item and it won't have any effect. We can also tell you how to customize the translator to only print author-date (currently you'd have to re-do this after each update of the plugin - if there's sufficient demand, we could consider letting users define that part via a preference).
  • edited May 10, 2013