Duplicate detection?

• Hello all,

I have read most of the 91 messages above and at some time I felt petty of the developers. Almost four years of users desperately requesting the same thing and it seems programing this stuff is not really easy. Im a physician thus I cant say how easy or difficult could it possibly be. But come on guys ... if you are really really desperate... donate!!! Isnt it good and useful??? ... than donate as much as you can! Get the programmers of your institutions involved! Sell zotero functionalities to your librarians.

Giving some thought to this discussion, what is the problem of duplicates?

The problem I faced more then once is that I cite one reference in a paper... later in the same paper I cited the duplicated reference, thinking it was the first. Thus at Bibliogrphy I would have the "same" reference inserted twice with different numbers. If this is the case, then a carefull exam of bibliography would detect this error. Fixing is the problem. Editing the citations may take some time but it will work.

The second problem is after inserting a citation, the users deletes the reference from the library thinking that is a duplicate, then when bibliography is inserted zotero will not be able to find the correspondent reference. When I used to work with EndNOte (version 10) it had a warning window that it was not able to find the cited reference and at the same it opened the library and asked which reference it should be used instead! At this time it was also possible to stick in the library a new reference to replace the old one! Never happened to me though!

Now a question to further understand the duplicate/merging problem!!!