Linux mint Zotero don't open anymore

edited January 13, 2021
Hi
Similar to other linux users, I lost zotero icons last december but could still open zotero from the toolbare by clicking on the empty/missing icone space. Yesterday, zotero would not open anymore (I think (but not certain) since the mint system and/or dirvers update).
After some trial and error, I managed to bring back a nice icone (saved in the picture folder though) but impossible to open zotero despite a link to the zotero file!
If I go to the software manager, it offers me to install "Zotero" as if I don't have it (It does find my Standalone verion that I tried to used with office in a kennel though).
- I have tried ./zotero in the terminal, nothing happens.
- I have downloaded the last version 5.0.95 of zotero.tar file from zotero.org and extracted it:
~$ cd /home/mchastel/Downloads/Zotero_linux-x86_64
$ ./zotero
Nothing happen...

I am a very beginner in all this and would really appreciate a step by step help/explanation!
Thank a lot
best
Matthieu
  • ~$ cd /home/mchastel/Downloads/Zotero_linux-x86_64
    $ ./zotero
    Nothing happen...
    Can you say more? What exactly happens?
  • edited January 14, 2021
    Hmm... hard to say more, the console returned "nothing" ($""). I couldn't see any changes anywhere, Zotero would not open.
    In the end, I found back Zotero with a lot of trial and error and many beginner mistakes I guess but I couldn't/didn't wanted to go back to all the learning tutorials etc yesterday...
    I try to summaries bellow what I did but I am afraid it will sound like gibberish, sorry:
    - I "installed" zotero from linux mint cinnamon software manager on top of my manually, long installed zotero. After charging for few seconds it said that Zotero was already installed yet the launch button wouldn't work and the other app button (in the menu and drop bar same).