Citation Style help needed - Anthropology (AAA)

Hello all!
I'm currently trying to figure out how to create a working CSL for the American Anthropological Association style - http://aaanet.org/publications/style_guide.pdf - but frankly, I have no idea where to start. I've set up my test cases, but I've never worked with XML before, even though I do have a tiny bit of programming experience.

I would appreciate any help or pointers that any of you might have!
  • edited November 10, 2008
    A good start is to find yourself a few styles that are very similar to the target style and check out how they are coded. (Use clsedit.xul to inspect the CSL of currently loaded styles.)
  • There is some documentation available on using CSL:
    http://dev.zotero.org/creating_citation_styles

Especially the schema itself (http://xbiblio.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/xbiblio/csl/schema/trunk/csl.rnc?view=markup) and the syntax summary page (http://dev.zotero.org/csl_syntax_summary) can be quite helpful.
  • edited November 10, 2008
    I'd second mark's suggestion.

1. find the current style that is closest to what you need

2. itemize (in english, or whatever) the specific changes you need

3. load the style in csledit.xul and (along with the documentation rintze notes) see if you can figure out how to tweak things to get what you need

4. if you run into a problem, post questions

• edited November 12, 2008
    Final steps would be:

1. copy/paste your tweaked style from csledit.xul into a plain text editor (say, Notepad) and save it as a .csl file. If it's perfect, consider submitting it to the style repository (Rintze knows how).

2. For local use, drag and drop that CSL file from your file manager onto Firefox - that will make it available in Zotero.