ZotDroid - A Zotero Client for Android

Hello everyone!

I'm a big fan of Zotero and I've been using it for a long while. I'm currently an MRes student and I need to get a lot of reading done. I run my own webdav and I like to read papers on my tablet. I organise them all with Zotero. My wife is also a zotero user, in the humanities (I'm in the biological and computer sciences) and we both think it's great!

I used to use Zandy but I found it didnt work for me and I think the developer has left it alone. To that end, I've released another Android Client, ZotDroid.

At the moment, it is in beta and it's version 0.2. It needs a lot of testing - it was designed for my Nexus 10 and so, I need folk to test it, tell me whats wrong and what features you'd like. Basically, I figure I can keep it for myself, or put it out there. At the moment, it needs work, so it's free. It's read only right now. I'm going to start work on write features, such as adding notes and deleting entries. But I need to prioritise so let me know what you think is most important.

You can download it here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=uk.co.section9.zotdroid

Here are the features thus far:

Reading a fresh copy of a Zotero Library
Downloading an attachment via the WebDav interface
Basic search on all fields
Selecting a collection and viewing the items for just that collection
Incremental syncing
Backing up via SQLite DB

Things still to do:

More testing!
Tag support
Label support
Option as to where to save attachments
Icons to show if an attachment is downloaded already
Adding notes
Removing records
Removing collections
Modifying records
Multiple Author records
Sorting via multiple options such as date
More robust recovery from internet problems
Better UX design
Whatever the greater Zotero community wants

Cheers!

Ben
  • I tried to download it, but I got error "incompatible with your device". I have Samsung S3 phone.