import/export: reference manager

i just stumbled upon zotera and it looks good. however, i have been using the reference manager for past four-five years and have a sizeable database there.

is it possible to import/export references between zotera and the reference manager 11? if so, how?

thanks
  • I believe (but have no way of confirming) that ReferenceManager can export an RIS file, which Zotero can import. Alternatively, look for BibTex or Endnot/Refer/BibIX export which it MIGHT have. Zotero also supports MODS, MARC, and RDF import, but I doubt ReferenceManager can export to those formats.

Please report back here with the format or formats you can/can't export to help other users.
  • I've just tested NOKSAGT suggestion: exporting from RM to a RIS file and importing it in to zotero, and it worked fine, i.e. it did what it was expected to, and I save precious time of typewriting previously saved references. However there are some drawbacks in the procedure:

1) Some fileds are not handled with the original name. Thus a link to PDF in RM will appear as a URL direction in zotero. This is not bad if you are not using the WEB/URL link in RM, but if you do, then you will get confusing fields.

2) Special fonts are marked with squares during the importing to RIS. They doesn't appear as special or even marked (lets say Itlaics) in zotero and I haven't test if they do once they are used in the document (lets say Word).

Hope this helps
  • Re. (2): RIS is supposed to be plain text. So it sounds like a non-standard export from RM to me...
  • I accounted similar problem when importing from RM11. In the RM records I have links to PDF files saved on a disk. In exported RIS file these links are saved as L1 field, e.g.:

L1 - file://C:\folder\filename.pdf

There are some special characters at the beginning and the end of file address. In a text editor (SciTE) they appear as NAK and ETB .