Duplicate detection?

• I'm just getting started with Zotero. So far it is great, but dups are already an issue. From reading this discussion, there are two issues. The first is finding exact duplicates. The second is merging entries about the same item that are not exact. Finding and removing exact duplicates is not hard right now. Detection on import would be nice.

Merging entries about the same item that differ is the important feature. A simple approach that would work for me would be: 1) Information (and links) that exist in only one entry is combined, 2) In the case of a conflict, let me pick a ‘master’ entry. A more complex solution would be to let me choose on a per-tag basis, but I could live without something that complex.

I'm sure that other users have different needs and the issue is more complex than I understand. But, I would prefer to have an imperfect solution over none.
  • the biggest problem about merging is actually how to deal with citations using the "merged" item. I believe everything else would be quite doable.
    It would be nice to get a quick comment from Dan or another dev if duplicates are going to be addressed in 2.1 (which I agree they should be).
  • edited March 17, 2010
    Hi. This thread was started by CB on October 10, 2006. Do we have pdf duplicate detection yet?
  • I'm another scholar who would greatly appreciate duplicate detection. I do a lot of searches with minor keyword differences to catch all possible references, and it would be great if Zotero didn't add exact duplicates, plus it would lower my total number of citation downloads from Google Scholar, and thus lower my risk of being locked out for adding unnecessary numbers of items. It's been 4 years since folks have started to ask for it. Is it actually coming soon?
  • plus it would lower my total number of citation downloads from Google Scholar, and thus lower my risk of being locked out for adding unnecessary numbers of items