Alphabetical Sorting

Hi,

I'm new to Zotero.
I looked through all the tutorials, searched the forums but wasn't able to find a solution to my problem.

I've added all my citations to my library. I'm now adding them one by one in Word as I'm writing my article and then I create a bibliography at the bottom of my .doc. I thought that my bibliography would automatically be sorted by alphabetical order (by author's name).
But the citations are added in the order they appear in my article.
I'm using Vancouver style.

Is there something I'm missing?

Thanks in advance,
  • Bibliographic sorting is style-dependent. Vancouver, like most numbered styles, sorts by the order in which references are cited.
  • You're not missing anything, I think. The Vancouver style does not sort the bibliography, so references will appear in document order. A switch to a style that does sorting (such as Chicago Author-Date) will reorder the bibliography (so long as that style remains selected).
  • Thank you for your response!
    Then I think there's a problem with the editorial rules I must respect. They're asking for a Vancouver style for the citations, but with bibliography numbered in alphabetical order...

Is there any matching style ? Or should I use another app for creating my bibliography ?
  • what's the journal? It's easy enough to do in Zotero, I can write you the style.
  • edited January 14, 2010
    It's a french radiation therapy journal called "Cancer/Radiothérapie". The instructions are available here : http://www.em-consulte.com/getInfoProduit/CANRAD/instructionsAuteurs/CANRAD.pdf (english beginning page 8 and references instructions at page 10).

That would be great if you could create that style (vancouver citation with bibliography listed in alphabetical order by first author's name)! Thank you!
  • go here
    http://gist.github.com/277460
    download using the "Raw" link on the top right.
    Install by dragging the downloaded file to an open Firefox window.