I can't annotate and sync my PDF files on web Zotero and Android Phone

Hi there, I'm new to Zotero. I downloaded the desktop version and annotated a few of my PDF files. However, I tried using the ZotFile method and DropBox to view the files with annotations on my phone and maybe also annotate them.
When I did that, I got the files on my phone on the DropBox app without any annotations. To be honest, the process is just so complicated. I can view my files with annotations on the web Zotero, but I can't seem to annotate on my devices on the web version. What can I do to annotate and have the annotations synced all across the devices?
  • Currently on Android -- nothing really using Zotero annotations. I'd just wait for the Android app.
    If you really do want to use Dropbox/ZotFile, you'll want to use an external reader/annotator app for PDFs in Zotero Desktop as well (set in the general tab of the preferences).
  • Use Zoo For Zotero/Xodo for proper annotations. So far, it's the only android PDF reader that allows me to highlight/annotate paper. When I close it and go back to Zoo, it detects a new version of the file and asks me if I want to upload the new version. Once you open the file in desktop Zotero, the file appears with the modifications.
  • @adamsmith
    Thank you for replying! Will there be an Android app any time soon?
  • @mrgerlo Thank you so much for giving an alternative. But how do I use the app? I tried annotating files on Zotero desktop, and when I tried to view it on the app, I just got a view of the pdf file itself with no annotations. Can you roughly explain to me what to do? I hope you can; I really appreciate it.