Discuss: Zotero and the needs of novice researchers

edited January 6, 2023

(Forked from this post on Zbib feedback)

I’m an academic librarian. I’ve been using Zotero and teaching it to students and faculty for about as long as Zotero has been around. I’ve probably introduced Zotero to hundreds of people, most of whom have been undergraduates. I once printed my own Zotero stickers to hand out at workshops. You might say I’m an insufferable Zotero fanboy.

In spite of my own love for Zotero and in spite of all of the amazing recent updates that have improved my own research workflow immeasurably, I have some serious concerns regarding the long-term viability of Zotero in its current form.

I don’t know if it’s true or not whether younger people generally struggle with legacy tech, but over the past few years, I’ve observed a noticeable decline in students’ basic computer skills as they relate to installing and using Zotero. It seems fewer and fewer students each year have the knowledge and skills necessary to install software or add a browser extension. I’m finding that I have to teach more and more students very basic things: how to right-click, how to locate their downloads folder, how to navigate a program menu, how to launch a program. What I perceive as a decline in basic computer literacy isn’t something Zotero can solve, but I don’t think it’s going away. I worry that as Zotero gets more powerful and more complex, it becomes less accessible to entry-level users.

It’s entirely possible that these concerns are already on the dev team’s radar and that recent work on the web library, PDF reader, and iOS app signal a convergence toward what I’m envisioning, but in any case, here are some things that I think would lower the bar without sacrificing functionality for power users:

1. Simplifying onboarding.