Integration error in Word 2013

I have been using Zotero for over two years now, and it has been so useful for my works. Today, though, I find myself having quite a troublesome issue, one that I haven't encountered before.

I was working like always with Zotero and Word, then my laptop shuts down due to overheat (caused because I was using it for a prolonged time). I wait 10 minutes till it cools off, and turn it on. I then open Word and Zotero to continue working, but now whenever I try to add a new cite or create a bibliography in Word, a notification pops-up telling me that Word cannot communicate with Zotero (integration error), and that I should check if the Word add-on is enabled. I proceed to go and check, but it says that it is already enabled. I tried disabling it then enabling it again, then updating it, but nothing.

Anyone knows why this problem appeared when I didn't have any issue before? Maybe a file got corrupted when the shutdown happened?
  • Could you submit a Report ID from Zotero?
  • Here is the Report ID: 271116847
  • I was trying to solve this problem again, and now it turns out that the Word plugin was uninstalled? At the time I submitted this post, it was still installed, but now it disappeared. I tried following this guide to re-install it manually (https://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_plugin_manual_installation), but to no avail.

I might need to truly re-install Zotero, but I am afraid of losing my library of articles in the process.
  • Reinstall Zotero from the download page. You're somehow missing the word processor plugins.

Your data won't be affected, but you should always have a backup of your Zotero data directory — or ideally just your whole computer — regardless. (You can also set up Zotero syncing.)