Problems running WORD processor on institutional PC (Office 365)

Dear ZOTERO community,

I sincerely hope someone can help with troubleshooting:

I have joined a new university and received a new institutional PC (Office 365) on which I am a local admin. I could install the ZOTERO standalone client and the browser extensions, and both the client and the extensions work.

However, the WORD processor does not show up. I have gone through the troubleshooting info in the ZOTERO documentation already but cannot find the problem. In the ZOTERO client, all the settings are correct, and I can also see that there is the correct ZOTERO add-on when I check the WORD settings. But the ZOTERO buttons simply do not show up in the Windows task bar.

My university only supports Endnote, which is why I am wondering if there is any institutional default set-up that might hinder ZOTERO.

I have worked for different universities in the past but never encountered any issues installing ZOTERO on their PCs, so I would welcome feedback from people who have encountered problems with Office 365.

Thanks so much!
  • edited December 21, 2021
    I believe it's possible for an institution to disable all but approved plugins.

When you say "I can also see that there is the correct ZOTERO add-on when I check the WORD settings", what are you referring to? Do you see Zotero.dotm in Templates and Add-ins? Is it checked?
  • Yes, I can see Zotero.dotm in the Add Ins section, and it says "template" in one of the columns, but I am not sure if it is checked or where I could to that. It's merely a list of applications. I will try and ask our IT services if they disabled ZOTERO.
  • There are checkboxes next to each listing in the Templates and Add-ins dialog. You can see them in the screenshot on this page.