Zotero app not working

edited September 3, 2021
Hello, this is my first time using this forum so excuse me if I am not proceeding properly (also, not a native english speaker).

So I have an issue with Zotero on my PC: whenever I try to open it, it throws the next message: an error has occured, please restart Zotero. I did so several times but the error keeps poping up. However, it works perfectly on another laptop I have.

Error ID: 2115850521

Things I have tried to solve it:
- Disable all Microsoft Edge Extensions.
- Disable Windows Firewall.
- Upgrading Zotero (but it was on the latest version already)

Also, If I go onto the Connector extension for Edge, this error log appears:

[unrelated output removed — D.S.]
  • edited September 3, 2021
    [JavaScript Error: "Invalid field 'citingPublications" for base field" {file: "chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/data/itemFields.js" line: 280}]
    [JavaScript Error: "Invalid field 'citingPublications" for base field" {file: "chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/data/itemFields.js" line: 280}]
    getFieldIDFromTypeAndBase@chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/data/itemFields.js:280:13
    Zotero.Item.prototype.getField@chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/data/item.js:246:19
    Zotero_Item_prototype_getField@chrome://zotero-scite/content/Scite.js:261:12
    This is an error from the Scite plugin, not Zotero. I've reported it to them.
  • Thank you! Indeed as I didn´t know what was causing the problem, I followed some instructions from this post:
    https://forums.zotero.org/discussion/87143/error-has-occured-everytime-after-restart#latest

Deleting the prefs.js file solved the problem!
  • So it works perfectly now that prefs.js was deleted? Any chance you still have the old prefs.js file that you could email to me at ashish@scite.ai?

I am trying to replicate this bug but our plugin at 1.10.0 works for me on 5.0.96.3 so I suspect it's something to do with that file...?
  • Sure, I have just sent you the .js file to that address :)