Merge all duplicates

Hello, first time Zotero user here, bit baffled that I cant ask the program to merge all duplicates, instead of having to click "merge" on each individual case.

As I have just combined some old and new reference libraries of mine, I have several hundred (if not thousands) of duplicates from the different ref. libraries, and I'm not in the mood of clicking "merge" then waiting 5 seconds and clicking "merge" again.. will take me hours..

Any solution to this?

/thanks
  • No solution atm. Are the references identical? (except for date added, date modified timestamps) Otherwise, I'm not sure how Zotero is supposed to automatically figure out which metadata you want to keep and which you want to discard.
  • (Maybe I should add that I'm a biologist, so its mainly journal references that I'm talking about, and in the context of writing my own manuscripts etc.)

Thanks for you reply.
    Yes, next to identical at least - and since I have so many of them anyway I'm not going to bother choosing one over the other, a simple merge using the newest item as "master" would suffice.

If there isnt a way to get a solution to this I will basically have to choose one of my libraries and discard all of the others, since there is a big overlap. It also prevents me from searching on ISI for a topic/organism/method/etc I'm currently interested in and writing about, downloading all the citations and then putting them into my library. Because that would in almost all cases lead to a huge amount of duplicates...

Actually, simply deleting the oldest duplicate would be perfectly fine too, if merging is intensive computationally.
  • If deleting is ok and the duplicates are coming from separate imports (e.g. A1, B1, C1, D1 were imported first, then you imported A2, B2, C2, D2), then the following may work out well.

1. Select one of the items that is duplicated and tag it with "duplicate" tag. The tag should now appear in the tag selector in the bottom left.