Available in preview: Zotero PDF reader and new note editor

• @eporte: A third-party Android app would have access to the annotations via the API, but it would obviously be quite a lot of work to implement a PDF reader with similar features.
  • Super helpful already!

Two feature requests... First, in the iOS version I'd love to see some sort of 'distraction free' reading and annotation mode for PDFs, currently there's not a great option available... PDF Expert is okay, but that's about it.

Second, as a grad student I find myself on the receiving end of a lot of poorly scanned and formatted PDFs and have been relying on OCRmyPDF (https://ocrmypdf.readthedocs.io/en/latest/) to split and clean them. Echoing an earlier poster's comment about editing page numbering as well. Being able to do this within Zotero, rather than from Terminal or with a couple Automator scripts would be really handy.
  • @dstillman : Thank you for your response. Access to annotations is already an important thing that will allow you to consult your work. But it is true that the development of quality tablets (including e-ink) makes you want to be able to annotate in mobility and find everything in Zotero. This would make a very powerful annotation ecosystem. But it's true that it's a lot of work. And a solution for extracting the highlighted passages and then reintegrating them into the metadata of the new annotation panel would be complicated ?
  • Are other annotation tools on the horizon, such as underline, shape drawing (ellipses, etc.), text boxes, or inking?