Microsoft Word (for Mac) sudden conflict with Word Processor Add-In [Run Time Error: ‘5’]

Report ID: 230829537

I have been using Zotero for about 10 years since I worked at CHNM. Until recently, the Microsoft Word Processor Add-In has worked well, allowing me to easily add endnote/footnotes and bibliographies through the Zotero menu in the Word ribbon pane.

When trying to teach my students this feature in Word (both last week and today), I receive a pop-up message: Run Time Error: ‘5’ Invalid Procedure Call or Argument. I tried uninstalling Zotero and then re-installing it - no luck. I updated Word, closed it out, rebooted my Macbook - no luck. Ran a Debug (Debug ID: D264744190) - no luck.

This problem is recent; no problem up until Nov or Dec of 2020. I am having this same Run Time Error: 5 problem on my Macbook Pro running Catalina, and my Mac Mini running Big Sur. Just to be sure, I checked with my university's IT director and our Zotero librarians, and their Word Processor Add-In is working just fine on both PCs and Macs.

Any help is appreciated.
  • edited January 26, 2021
    FWIW - when I click on "Help" on the Run Time Error: '5' pop-up, it directs me to this page on the Microsoft website: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/office/vba/language/reference/user-interface-help/invalid-procedure-call-or-argument-error-5?f1url=?appId=Dev11IDEF1&l=en-US&k=k(vblr6.chm1000005);k(TargetFrameworkMoniker-Office.Version%3Dv16)%26rd%3Dtrue

Screen Snips:
    https://ibb.co/FHwDTtB
    https://ibb.co/dtdQRnv
    https://ibb.co/Fb0Wvvs
  • What exact version of Word?
  • Microsoft Word for Mac Version 16.45
  • This error generally indicates that Word is having problems running AppleScript. This might be a system-wide issue on your machines or some new restriction on Word. It is likely to be caused by security software, Word extensions or some other software you may have installed recently.