How exactly to install Zotero on Chromebook

For context: I'm brand new to using Linux on my Chromebook (I'm using it just so I can get Zotero), so I'm looking for clear step-by-step directions.

Here's what I've done, followed by where I'm stuck:
-I've downloaded the Zotero tarball
-I moved it to "Linux files" on my "Files" app
-Using the Terminal, I extracted the contents using this command: "tar xvjf Zotero-5.0.85_linux-x86_64.tar.bz2"
-I moved to the new directory it created using this command: "cd Zotero_linux-x86_64"

And this is where I'm stuck:
The installation instructions (at https://www.zotero.org/support/installation) say: "Download the tarball, extract the contents and run zotero from that directory to start Zotero." How exactly do I "run zotero" (i.e. what do I need to type into the command prompt)?
-->I tried "bash zotero" And it returned: "XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /home/[my username]/Zotero_linux-x86_64/libxul.so:
libdbus-glib-1.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM."

Am I missing a file? If so, how do I get it?

Also, would it be possible for Zotero.org to simply offer a .deb file for installation rather than downloading the tarball? It sounds like that makes it much easier to install on Chromebook.

Thanks for your consideration, and for your help with this question!
  • There's an (unofficial but highly trustworthy) deb here: https://github.com/retorquere/zotero-deb including instructions for installation on Chromebooks (note that Zotero doesn't run on ARM processors, increasingly common for Chromebooks, though)
  • Thanks for your help adamsmith! However, I'm trying to do this directly through zotero.org rather than github.com--I do appreciate that possibility, but I'm a little paranoid about downloading and installing software from sites like github. If there is any way I can do it with the tarball, that'd be appreciated.