Importing references from Microsoft Office 365

I have done some searching and found numerous articles how to achieve the above but many just don't seem to work.

I'm in my third year on a part time Degree and a fellow student recommended Zotero and I wish to migrate all my references.

Can anyone give guidance or point me in the direction of instructions that work with the above configuration?

TIA.
  • edited March 6, 2020
    I'm not sure what you mean by this. Where exactly are your references now? Are you referring to Word's built-in bibliography tool, or just plain-text references in a Word document?

For the latter, see Importing Formatted Bibliographies.
  • edited March 6, 2020
    Yes, the references are located in word's built-in bibliography tool. I shall run through that. Thanks.
  • edited March 6, 2020
    OK, so if you've inserted those in a document, see the linked page.

I'm not sure if there's a way to export references you have in that tool that you haven't inserted into a document, though presumably you could just insert them all and then follow those steps.
  • Followed the instructions in the link and afraid it fails at the second step, I only have a data folder. Probably because I run Office 365 which runs in the cloud?
  • Are you using Word on your computer or Office Online?

What do you mean by "I only have a data folder"? Where, exactly?

Word 365 is just a subscription service, and it includes access to regular desktop versions of Word and other Office programs. It doesn't imply that you're using the web-based version of Word.
  • Oh right, okay.

Specifically, the instructions said to drop the file into:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\\Bibliography\Style

But I only have:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Data
  • OK, but still, are you talking about Word in a web browser as part of Office Online or the Word program on your computer?
  • Sorry, I'm running on my computer.
  • What exact version number of Word?