Not able to sync (Error: Please enter URL)

Hi,

Apologies in advance for my ignorance- I'm trying to learn! I am fairly new to Zotero. My colleague and I have tried to sync our references, but we are not able to do so. We get the error message- Error: Please enter URL. I have no idea which URL to add or where to find it, though I know where to add the URL.

Thanks!
  • Yes, I get the same error. I'll be working in Zotero (not trying to sync) and I keep getting an annoying popup "Please enter url" I have sync set to automatic so perhaps it keeps trying??
  • edited March 29, 2009
    You have file syncing enabled, but you haven't entered a WebDAV URL. Zotero 1.5 currently requires an external WebDAV server to sync attachment files.
  • So the answer is - go to Zotero preferences and in the sync tab uncheck the file sync button. It's worked for me!
  • I got the same problem.
    I can use the zotero sync server, but could not use my own webdav server.
  • Well, that's a bummer. Esp since WEB Dav is quite above my pay grade (I had to look it up on Wikipedia). Any chance of IDisk and/or Mobile me operating in such a way?
  • Melani: MobileMe provides WebDAV. Search the forums for help.
  • Dan,