My version switched format

This discussion was created from comments split from: Flaws in Zotero?.
  • I have been using Zotero happily for a couple of years, and suddenly my version switched format and is virutually completely unusuable. Did I click on something to toggle to another format? This is terrible.
  • Not sure what you mean here. Can you take a screenshot, upload it somewhere (e.g., Dropbox), and provide a link here?
  • OK, so that's the online version of your library on the Zotero website — and specifically the new version, which has much more functionality than the old web library. If you mean to be using the website, you'd have to say what you mean by "completely unusable".

If you're looking for the actual Zotero interface — what people generally mean when they refer to "Zotero", and what you want to be using if you're doing any significant work — that's a program on your computer that you install and open like any other.
  • Thanks. Now I have another issue. When I follow it the way you advised, I get a log on screen (and only that, nothing else on my screen) and I cannot remember my password, and from that screen there is no option for changing it. I have my computer remembering me so I do not have to write in a password. I am stuck.

Meanwhile, I have been able to click on something that takes me back to the Old Library which returns the functionality that I had lost. At this point it seems as if I am good to go. I will post back here if it fails. I am going to close down my computer and log back in to make sure it is not just a fluke that allowed me to get to this point.
  • No, there still seems to be a lot of confusion here.
    When I follow it the way you advised, I get a log on screen (and only that, nothing else on my screen) and I cannot remember my password, and from that screen there is no option for changing it.