How to get author-short title in subsequent citations?

Hello,

Apologies if this has been covered before. I'm new to Zotero.

I'm currently using the Modern Language Review style. But it only cites the author in subsequent footnotes. I want it to cite author, short title. Is it possible to change this easily?

If not, I am open to suggestions for other styles that do this automatically.

Ideally, I want my citations to read as:

First citation: C.M. Cipolla, Before the Industrial Revolution: European Society and Economy, 1100–1700, trans. F. Franks (London: Methuen, 1976), p. 60.

Then: Cipolla, Before the Industrial Revolution, p. 62.

Is there also a style that does just author-short title throughout?

Thanks!
  • Is using Chicago Manual of Style an option? That does what you want. The full note version uses full citation on first mention and then author, shortitle, the note version uses author short-title throughout.
  • Thanks Adam. How do you switch between full note and note versions?
  • They are different styles, so just like you'd switch between any other two citation styles.
  • Ok great. I've switched to Chicago Manual of Style note version. But it's rendering page references as just e.g. '300' not 'p. 300'. Is it possible to change that?

Thanks so much for all your help with this!
  • Not without editing the style which is always a bit more involved. Can I ask what this is for? I would generally encourage the use of standardized styles without modification.
  • It's for a history book I'm writing, and I'm trying to follow my publisher's style guide. Is there a different style that includes 'p.'?

I suppose I could always type in p. as I add page references as I go along?
  • I wouldn't recommend adding the p., that'll cause other issue potentially. Which publisher is that from if you don't mind? Are the guidelines public or easy to share?