Sort by filename?

I am new to Zotero and want to see if this program is suitable for me. I have an archive of thousands of sources ordered by subject and the files are named "date author subject" (e.g. 2005 Jones interviewing techniques). So far, about half are recognized and renamed by Zotero because many are scanned newspaper articles or books, many not in English. Of those, half are incorrectly recognized and usually miss important data, for example, only showing the title which is wrong.

This wouldn't be so bad if I could easily see my old file names as a sorting field, because then I could identify the file. But in the field chooser, "file" is not among the display options. I imagine this would be an easy thing to implement, but it doesn't seem present.

Am I missing something?

This tiny issue is probably a dealbreaker for me, since it makes this otherwise excellent program hard to use.
  • edited November 7, 2019
    If the files are already renamed, you can't get the old filenames, but you can temporarily turn off "Automatically rename attachment files using parent metadata" and add the files again. Once all the parent metadata is set correctly — either automatically or manually — you can select all the files using a search (e.g., create a saved search for [Attachment File Type] [is] [pdf] and then do Select All) and rename them all based on the parent metadata.

If you haven't made any changes you need to keep and want to start from scratch with that option disabled, the cleanest way is to close Zotero and just delete the Zotero data directory.
  • Thanks for the quick reply. I found the switch to turn auto-rename off and that seems to work fine. My main problem is the fact I can't see the file names in the main directory, which is very important for me to find anything as Zotero's new titles are often gobbledygook.