BibTeX key changed after I imported a bib file

I am new to Zotero, and have just imported my BibTeX file containing over 2000 references into Zotero.
After making some changes, I exported back from Zotero to BibTeX. Strangely, I noticed that all citation-keys have changed! For example, instead of yoon2008participatory, I have yoon_participatory_2008.
I do not care much about the citation format, but, I already have papers written in LaTeX that use the old citation keys. This means these files will not work with the new BibTeX file I export from Zotero!
Is there a way to tell Zotero to keep my old citation keys as they are?

NOTE: I found https://github.com/retorquere/zotero-better-bibtex/wiki/Citation-Keys , where you can make the citation keys fixed. However, I do not see how to keep the citation keys as they are in my old BibTeX file.
  • Is there a way to tell Zotero to keep my old citation keys as they are?
    No. I don't know if Better BibTeX can do that. @emilianoheyns ?

Otherwise, what's happen if you configure the citekey generator and then import your file?

https://github.com/retorquere/zotero-better-bibtex/wiki#got-problems-we-got-fixes

(Be careful and don't forget to backup your Zotero Library.)
  • It seems that Better BibTeX does not support Zotero 5, so I cannot use it.
  • Oh yes, indeed…
  • What kind of changes did you make?

No export/import route will preserve all data & you're likely better off manipulating the records in Zotero instead.

But...if you really want to do this despite that advice: The bibtex translator is a file called BibTeX.js in the "translator" directory of your Zotero data folder.
    http://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data
    You may edit it to use var citeKeyFormat = "%a%y%t";
  • It would be great if we can configure citekey in Zotero preference interface!
  • What's happened to this issue?

As the OP, I already have LaTeX documents that use the keys in my bib database.