«Loading items...» window freezes when opening Zotero in Linux Mint

edited June 7, 2019
Zotero used to function very well, and suddenly, when I open it, the «Loading items...» window remains blank, and synchronization fails to complete.

Report ID : 1741938537
Debug output ID : D1155599000
  • database disk image is malformed
    Your database is corrupted. This usually happens if you have your Zotero data directory in a cloud storage folder or on an external drive that you unmount improperly.

You can try the DB Repair Tool.
  • edited June 8, 2019
    Thanks dstillman,

I am a beginner in both Linux and zotero, but for the last few months, everything was working very well.

As recommended, I first made a copy of my zotero folder (until now, I thought the synched copy was sufficient...). Then I found the zotero.sqlite file, saved it in another folder, and tried to upload it. Unfortunately I received this message from FireFox:
    "Secure Connection Failed. The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading. The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified.
    Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem".

What next ? With many thanks.

NB. I have no "cloud storage folder" except that of zotero.
    NBB. In my zotero bolder, I see two previous versions of zotero.sqlite : .sqlite.bak, and .sqlite.1.bak

• That likely means your connection timed out — how big is the file? — but you'll either need to figure out a way to upload the database or use the manual repair instructions.
  • the zotero.sqlite weighs only 28.8 Mb.
    However, my archived zotero library is more than 280 Mb. But I am only uploading the much lighter .sqlite file, and the error message doesn't take long to appear when uploading zotero.sqlite.
    Can a beginner securely use the manual repair instructions ?