Scrivener and Zotero - Advice for a Newby

Dear Zotero

Scrivener has been recommended to me recently by a few academics. But it's new to me. Zotero I've been using for a few years and it's as staple to me as oxygen..

I am tempted to buy Scrivener - the functionality seems very good. But - only if there are plans for compatibility with Zotero. I have read all the forums here and it doesn't seem straightforward currently. I've also watched the YouTube videos about scrivener and Zotero. I honestly can't see myself using the workarounds. Too fiddly.

Also I'd be working for my first project with existing word documents, moved to Scrivener - with Zotero citations. And I don't see any advice on this.

Can anyone out there tell me if it's a huge faff or if one does eventually get used to the workarounds. Or even better - that there is a plug-in in the works..

Thanks!

EP
  • There's no plugin in the works. I think we might get a bit more stable/easy support for the scanning solutions that are what you find now if you search for Zotero/Scrivener integration, but a proper plugin is unlikely to happen.
  • Thanks Adam. Saves me money on going to Scrivener.

Best!
  • There isn't much that can be done for Scrivener -- Literature & Latte (the makers of Scrivener) have not shown any interest in making available the possibility in Scrivener for tighter integration with other programs. Since L&L won't do it, and Scrivener is closed source (meaning we can't do it either), there's nothing that can be done on our end.
  • I also have the same concerns as the original poster before committing to Scrivener. In the Scirvener User Manual for MacOS, it states the following:

"20.4 Bibliography Management
    Scrivener offers simple integration with your favourite bibliography or citation
    manager (such as EndNote, Bookends, Sente or Zotero) for academic work. To
    set it up:
    1. Open the General: Citations preference pane (subsection B.2.8).