Zotero disappeared form Word ribbon

Hi,

I've been using Zotero for three years now, on a Windoes 10 system and integrated to MS Word 2007.

This afternoon, Zotero disappeared from Word's Ribbon. I didn't do any unusual operation or anything, just closed and reopened Word with the file I was working on.

I tried to reinstall the plugin from the Zotero Preference option a couple of times, to no avail. I tried to manually copy the file into the app/roaming/... folder; the file was still there, but I still copied and replaced it, to no avail again. I tried to reinstall Zotero to its latest version, yet, again, to no avail.

Now I'm stuck. What should I do to be able to get back to work? Thanks.
  • Are the Zotero macros still listed in the under macros in the developer tab? (language might not be precise, unfortunately MS keeps shifting things around in different Word versions; that's where they are in Word 2013/2016)
  • It doesn't seem, no.
  • It seems like the macros is disabled. Do you have macros allowed?
  • Yes, they're already enabled.
  • when you manually open the zotero.dotm file, you're still seeing the toolbar?
    (this isn't a fix, it's just for testing)

It should, in my understanding, not be possible to have the template in the correct Word startup folder and for the toolbar not to at least show.
  • Ok, I opened the file. Word gave me a message telling me this plugin provoqued an error last time it was activated and asked me if I was sure I wanted to open it again. I answered positively and Zotero reappeared in the toolbar.

My problems are not over yet, though, as I have to manually open the zotero.dotm file for each new document, and it doesn't work for already existing files (openining the zotero.dotm file opens a new document in Word, but Zotero doesn't reappear in existing files).

Did I lose all my citations on already existing files?
  • edited February 5, 2018