Preview Citation

I'm new to Zotero. So far I really love it, but I miss a PreviewWindow, which shows how the Citation will appear in the Bibliography.

Is there an easy way for this?
  • Zotero Preferences -> Cite pane -> at the bottom of the Styles pane, there's a "Style preview" button (the "Style Editor" is more efficient in my opinion, once you know which style you want to use).
  • additionaly, you can check all the thousands of styles here: https://www.zotero.org/styles
  • The Style preview is what I was looking for. Thanks!

For my workflow, I usually try to check the Citation after the Import/Edit immediately, to keep the library and its citations clean. Otherwise I collect more inconsitancy within the library - like: with one Citation I have the edition with an other one not, etc.

For that it would be perfect if the Style preview would be integreated in the Interface (like in Evernote)

How do you keep you library clean without previewing after the Import? Did I miss sth?
  • After you’ve used Zotero for a bit, you will probably find that you can just look at the Info pane and see if there is anything missing (e.g., book sections should always have an editor).
  • I second bwiernik. I have never looked at the style preview to find what is missing (and that is not the intent of the style preview feature, either).

I either scan the info tab in the right pane, or create a saved search to find items that need to be fixed. For example, I recently search for items without abstract. The advanced search is the magnifier glass icon in the top horizontal bar.
    https://www.zotero.org/support/searching

For abstract, I used the "Abstract" "does not contain" and then "a" or "e", since those are the most common alphabets. Not sure if there is a better way to just search if a field is blank or missing.