sync attachments preferences and PDFs storage

Hello,
for some reasons which I don't understand, the preferences for sync attachments which I set as unchecked, from time to time, change back to checked.

Question 1) is that a known issue?

Question 2) that makes that all of a sudden my files are synced on the zotero storage space, and quickly run out of space. Now the problem is that I can purge my own library, but I don't know how to purge the group library attachments of which I'm the owner though. Is there a way to do so?

Last time it happened I had exported the group library contents (files included), deleted the group library, created a new one, and then imported again, caring to set the sync preferences unchecked; but only a few weeks after I found agian these settings changed though I didn't changed them myself, and files have been re-upped on the Zotero server.

Best Regards

  • 1) no, I don't think we've ever heard of this

    2) I think you should be able to turn file sync off for any group if you don't need it. Would that work?
  • thanks, yes I don't need file sync, but I still have 2 problems:

    1) how do I remove the pdfs of the group library from the zotero server, now that they have been uploaded, as there is no purge function for group libraries as far as I understand?

    2) how do I set the file sync off for the group library? I see only one sync preference in the preferences; does it apply to both my own library and the group library ? and how to be assured that other invitees don't have their sync preferences on; so that they upload files on the server? and in case are these files counted on their 300 Mb quotas or mine (I'm the group owner)?

    well I find that in the end it is not very clear how does this sync preferences work at least at the level of the group libraries.
  • It's in the group's settings online, not the Zotero preferences locally.
  • Thanks, I see now it's the "No group file storage" library setting.
    However How do i remove the files uploaded so far? I still see that there are some 155 MB files stored for the Group Library..
  • I too would like to know what happens when I change group library settings to "no group file storage". I was able to select "no group file storage" for one library and failed for another. The successfully changed one still takes up the same amount of storage.
Sign In or Register to comment.