Zotero Standalone Not Working on New Computer

I have been using for Zotero for over 2 years now and apart from occasional glitches I normally don't have many issues with it.

I recently got a new computer for my office and attempted to install Zotero Standalone and the Firefox plugin onto the computer. I tested this all out on Friday 13th November and was able to sync Zotero Standalone with my online library to get all of my references. I was also able to save new references to Standalone.

However yesterday it stopped working. When I tried to open Standalone it was coming up with an error about it not opening properly and just shutting Standalone down. The Firefox plugin would not let me save any references and when hovering over the Zotero icon in Firefox it said that Zotero Standalone could not open.

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Zotero Standalone and this did not help. I also restarted the computer, which didn't help either. It eventually loaded Zotero Standalone but then while syncing the red exclamation point came up stating that it did not have permission to save the file to the directory. The Firefox plugin was still not allowing me to save references at this point and still said Zotero Standalone was not open correctly.

I do not want to change reference software as I like Zotero and find it easy to use. I need this issue fixed as I am trying to plan my PhD and so need to manage and store references.

Thanks for reading my query and I appreciate any suggestions that may fix it.
  • Did you move the Zotero data directory to a custom location (if you don't know you probably didn't)? If so, move it back.

If not -- the problem would seem to be that Zotero doesn't have permission to save to its own data directory. Find that data directory (https://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data -- note that you may have to show hidden files to be able to see the full path) and make sure you have read&write access with your regular user account.