APA issue number

Hi All,

I'm a professor of psychology, with a Ph.D. in said subject (fancy, I know).

Anyways, the APA style that you use is more wrong than right for putting in the issue number. It puts in the volume and the issue number in parentheses for all articles (the most common citation used in psychology). According to the style you are only supposed to do this for journals that start every issue with 1 (this is rare in our field).

I understand that it is impossible to program zotero to do this correctly (it would need a database of all journals that restart each issue with 1). However, MOST journals that we use, do in fact, start new issues with a continuing number.

So...for example...like issue 1 of made up psychology journal... starts with page 1 and ends with page 100; issue 2 starts with 101 and ends in 199 (these are just examples), issue 3 keeps the ball rolling (200-299).

I hope all this makes sense, but here's the thing, you chose to include the issue number for every article, and for most of the articles this is wrong.

So, for me to get my students to use it, telling them that you have to pretty much always delete the issue number will make them write their citations by hand (which is sad given that Zotero exists). I think making the default APA style not include the issue number is a better decision that will lead all my students to use Zotero (also, the other professors I know who are snarky will not be able to say, it messes up almost every citation).

For more reference to my ramblings see
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/07/

I have created removed the issue field in my own style, so this is not for me, but this is for all my less savvy colleagues.

So, I've done my duty to inform. I hope you guys make my suggested change (more people will use it and given that APA is the style of choice for so many fields, I think this will increase your marketshare)>