Feature request: Adding an item type for live performances

As a performance studies student I find myself regularly needing to cite live dance, theatre and music performances - which Zotero doesn't handle. I realise that a proliferation of item types makes data extraction difficult, but the lack of this item type basically breaks Zotero for me - being able to cite performances is a large chunk of writing in performance studies, drama, music, dance and related fields.

I also note that there is no 'Play' or 'script' item type, which would be useful as well.
  • how do you cite a life performance, preferably as done in a relevant journal or style guide?
  • Examples:

Harvard: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/content.php?pid=346637&sid=3021682
    MLA: http://lib.trinity.edu/lib2/cite_nontrad_mla.php
    Chicago (note only): http://www.ballarat.edu.au/current-students/learning-and-study/resources/general-guide-for-the-presentation-of-academic-work?sq_content_src=%2BdXJsPWh0dHAlM0ElMkYlMkZqZWQuY2VjYy5jb20uYXUlMkZjbGllbnRzJTJGdW9iJTJGZ2dwYXdfMjAxMCUyRmNoMDlzMDIucGhwJmFsbD0x#Ch434Se209361

Hope they are useful - the 'Harvard' guide listed above is from my university, so it's the one I'm sticking to for my dissertation!
  • Thanks, that's great. You can follow the ticket here:
    https://github.com/ajlyon/zotero-bits/issues/55
    this isn't something that'll make it into Zotero super quickly, but there's a good chance we'll get something useful in the next major Zotero version (3.1/3.5) but I can't make any promises neither on that nor on its time of arrival at this point.
  • I would agree that Performance would be a great Item Type. I am citing live concerts for my thesis. Temporarily I am using Audio Recording and will change it in the final merged bibliography.
  • (item type updates are going to be in Zotero 4.2)
  • Thanks - love Zotero!