RTF scan output to full ZOTERO functionality

Dear all,

I am new to Zotero, but very interested in it. I've just migrated from Citation and I have successfully managed to import all my references (via Biblioscape import-export).
I am now handling a paper I wrote with Citation. I have managed to change all the citations to a format which is recognized by the RTF scan.
I have scanned the doc and everything is fine. All the citation are now formatted. I have saved it into .doc format.
I would like to be able to change and edit the new document, using all the functionality of Zotero, such as the possibility to change the citation style of the whole document. It is not possible in my current .doc file. It says "you must insert a citation before performing this operation".
Any idea about solving this?

Thank you very much!
  • Sorry...I must correct the info!
    Actually the rtf scan is not really working...It has just changed correctly the citation without page numbers, all the others remained as in the original rtf file (example: {McQuade III, 2006, 16-17; Marler, 2002, 185; Gordon & Ford, 2006}).
    Also, Zotero does not seem to recognize the citation that were correctly changed (cannot change their style)...
    I also have difficulties in inserting new citations and references with Zotero in the document (trying to substitute the wrong citations). It pops up an error. The citation is inserted, but every attempt to modify it causes the same error message...
    I think it is getting complicated...
  • edited March 30, 2010
    The RTF scan does not work with the word processor plugins. The scan just converts correctly typed references into citations in your choice of style (and creates bibliographies). Once it is converted, Zotero is done with it. If you want to be able to change your document style, edit citations, and have Zotero interact with the document you have to enter the citations into it with the Zotero plugin for you word processor.