Add a document type

Hello, I'm a PhD student and I need to cite some scientific posters in an article. Would it be possible to add this type of document in the list ? I bet this could be useful for many people.

Thank you for your answer,

Olivier Godinot
  • edited February 29, 2012
    What data needs to be included? Could you provide a sample citation?

There is probably already an item type that could work.

Edit: Letter sequencing error
  • Right; what arggem said.

My guess is it's effectively the same as a conference paper, except it might need a genre note like "conference poster."
  • But as Godinot says, it would be useful having it as a different type.
    Agus
  • As you all said, the data that could be needed for a poster is similar to that of a conference paper :
    Authors
    Title
    généric name of conference
    number of the conference
    title of conference
    date of conference
    place of conference

But as alobo said, it would be nice to have a different type to make the difference.
  • edited March 14, 2012
    But as alobo said, it would be nice to have a different type to make the difference.
    Yes but you can use tags for that.

Edit: Just to be clear, here's what ajlyon said in this topic:
    In considering changes to item types and fields, it is important to remember that item types in Zotero are best understood as a set of fields and a set of ways they tend to be styled. That means that the best argument for new fields or types is that a certain type of data or citation is presently impossible to represent in Zotero. In addition, it is important to note that CSL has its own set of fields (called CSL variables) and item types, and that a mapping is used to make Zotero data accessible to CSL styles.
  • I understand your point of view but disagree on the conclusion.
    For the user, knowing that a given item is a poster
    and not a conference paper is important, as they do not