Incorrect APA style film citing?

I tried the search function but couldn't come up with a similar topic, so I started a new one.I'm a film and television student using the APA citation style. I've noticed that when I try to cite a film with Zotero the format used is:

Director. (Date). Title. Recording Type: Distributor.

I've searched the net up and down and in every case I've found film citations to be like so:
Producer, P. P. (Producer), & Director, D.D. (Director). (Date of publication). Title of motion picture [Motion picture]. Country of origin: Studio or distributor.

An example being:
Smith, J.D. (Producer), & Smithee, A.F. (Director). (2001). Really big disaster movie [ Motion picture]. United States: Paramount Pictures.

Is there something I've missed here, or is the APA style film citation wrong? I noticed there is no country of origin box in the info section of an item.

Here's a reference I've been using before using Zotero:
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/11/
  • yeah - films are a mess - both in scraping and in citing.
    I do have APA cite both director and producer, though, so maybe you're doing something wrong there (after you have put in director, press the plus next to it. You'll get a second line that says director, press the little arrow next to it and select producer).

But all of the other things you say are true & I'm also surprised there is no location.
    It's possible to adjust APA to that, but that would be quite a bit of work
  • edited March 11, 2009
    Ah, I found the Producer item in the info field. Thanks! At least that works.