Remove Field Codes (as in EndNote)

I'd like to be able to totally remove the field codes in a given document. In EndNote's system, this creates an entirely separate document where all references and macros have been replaced with absolute text.

This means that when I send a document to a technophobe professor running an old or borked version of a text editor, I don't have to worry about him/her coming across field codes rather than references.

I'm new to Zotero, and there may yet be a way to do this, but I don't see it on the list of macros.

Thanks!
Aaron
  • In Word, you can select all the text in the document then press ctrl-shft-F9. This will flatten all the field codes. I'm not sure how to do this in OpenOffice.

Caution: at the present time there is no way to restore the codes to Zotero friendly codes, so only do this when you completely finished with the document AND the bibliography.
  • How do you do this on Word 2004 Mac?
  • Try selecting the text of which you want to flatten the fields, and press CMD + Shift + F9.
  • It worked - thanks!
  • didn't work on my mac pro (Word/MS Office 2008). any other ideas?
  • didn't work on my mac pro (Word/MS Office 2008)
    Depending on your keyboard configuration, you may need to hold down "fn" as well.

In the Zotero 2.0–compatible plugins, there's also a new dedicated command for this that flattens only Zotero fields.
  • edited April 14, 2010
    I installed the 2.0-compatible plug-ins (using Mac Word 04...installed pythonext and macword plug-in 3.0b2), but I don't see a button on the toolbar for "remove field codes" or something similar. Am I missing something? (I did figure out how to do it using the Word keyboard shortcut: cmd+fn+shift+f9). thanks for any help!
  • there is a button - icon is a broken chain link - to the right of "Set Document Preferences".
    If you're sure it's not there post a link to a screenshot.