Same author, same year, different publications

Hi colleagues, I am a newbie, working on my thesis. Citation style I am using is Harvard-University of Westminster. I have been struggling with Zotero for a few weeks, although I feel that this is the best tool available for citation management.

I am citing different publications from the same author published in the same year. How do I ensure that the suffix of a/b/c appears (for in-text citation)? I don't think it is a good idea to edit manually, as it would prevent the document from automatically updating changes, once I manually edit the in-tent citations.

I am on the newest word, running the newest Zotero, on Mac.

Many thanks
  • edited March 11, 2020
    Editing manually is certainly not the right way.
    The citations disambiguation is done by the citation style.

I just tested this out and the style has the right setting and does this correctly.
    Test Citation:
    (Accadia et al., 2012b, pP03012)
    (Accadia et al., 2012a, pP03012)

Can you make sure you have the style correctly selected under "Document Preferences"?
    Also, try this in a fresh new document with just the two citations that should disambiguate.

(That it prints out the page for any citation looks like an error, and I'll look into it)
  • Thanks for the prompt reply, damnation. I am trying to edit it via CSL editor. Would be happy if you could provide more info.

1. Yes, one of the main caveats of the available University of Westminster-Harvard CSL is that it automatically generates the page range for in text citation, which is not needed.

2. The other issue is the usage of ; instead of comma to separate two publications for the in-text citation. How can I change it?
  • I forgot these two observations.

3. When there are two or three cited publications within one in-text citation, it should be ordered by year, in ascending order. Only when two items are published within the same year, then the order would be alphabetical.