Help with ZotFile - Not moving PDFs to designated folder

Hello Everyone,

Fully disclosure, I am new to Zotero and a move over from EndNote (I finally had enough) and I am computer illiterate. I must admit I am sad I did not discover Zotero earlier (multiple papers with over 400 references!).

Anyways, I was migrating my EndNote library, along with attachments, to Zotero. I was using the link below as a guide (very nice guide!). They show the steps to set up the program with Zotfile saving the PDFs to a cloud service (I use iCloud). The important worked perfectly as far as references go, but it placed the PDFs in a different location on my computer than the cloud folder I designated in Zotfile. I also changed the based directory to the cloud folder. I am doing all of this because I want to be able to work with my library from at least two devices.

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/325828616_Tutorial_The_Best_Reference_Manager_Setup_Zotero_ZotFile_Cloud_Storage

So my question is, why is Zotfile not working for me? Even when I import a new reference it is placing the PDF is some Zotero storage folder. Am I missing something to do this automatically?

Thanks again for all of your help!
Chem Prof
  • I should have stated in the original post, I am using a Mac OS 10.14.3 and Word 2016 as word processor.
  • What happens when you right click on an item, then choose Manage Attachments -> Rename and Move Attachment?
  • Hi- completely different person here- but have this exact problem. I did what you said- (right clicked on an item and then chose "manage..." and then "rename"... then a dialogue popped up in the lower right corner of zotero, and then suddenly the attachment (pdf) appeared in my dropbox folder that I had previously specified. Why did this work when I go to rename the file? And how can I make sure that new pdfs get saved there automatically (so I don't have to click rename each time)? Thanks! :)