Zotero and Google Docs

edited January 8, 2017
I really love Zotero. However, what I really need is that Zotero gets a seamless integration with Google docs. And it is technically possible as Paperpile and Colwiz show. Such an integration would stop me from regularly needing to ponder about moving away from Zotero to Colwiz for example.

I have read the information on the discussion page on https://forums.zotero.org/discussion/63484/google-docs/p1, but this also seems a very cumbersome solution as it already takes up so much time to understand the techical issues involved in moving all kinds of information around.

Can the Zotero development community work in this matter? I'm not technical so not able to develop such a feature. It would really make the lives of lots of people easier and Zotero even more the standard reference tool for many.

And then later on also work on integrations with for example Overleaf or Authorea ...

Kind regards
  • Zotero integrates very nicely with Overleaf and pretty nicely with Authorea already.
  • I also would like to see fuller integration with Google Docs. I just tried F1000, and while I don't like some of the limitations on how it inserts citations, I very much like the ease of use while in the Google Docs interface. I'm now working on a Chromebook, and the process of moving to the Zotero website tab, selecting a source, clicking "cite," selecting format, and copying the output to paste into a Google doc is too tedious to be a viable long-term workflow. Some way to call up citations within Google docs is needed. This from a long-time user (with absolutely no problems when on a Mac device).
  • Does the Zotero team have any plans to implement a plugin for Google Docs? I would also like to see that. I would be willing to help create the plugin, but first I'd like to know if anyone else is already working on it.