Accidentally lost access to my Library (because I accidentally lost old MLZ Zotero)

Hello, I am a PhD student in my last 60 days of work and I accidentally lost my old Zotero version (MZL) and consequentially access to my Zotero library. Let me explain.

I was using MZL Zotero for Firefox for Mac, probably not the last version…I lost track of it, but I would say it was probably 1 or 2 years old. But it was working perfectly. Then I decided to “refresh Firefox” in order to eliminate the default Yahoo searcher that somehow got into my Firefox. I was enjoying my coffee so I didn’t stop to think about the consequences for Zotero. The elimination of Yahoo worked, but it also eliminated MLZ Zotero! So I downloaded Zotero for Firefox—again, I was not thinking very much—and of course, once I opened the new Zotero for Firefox, my Library is gone.

But I have an online storage in zotero.org, that should work, right? I clicked on “sync”, However, I checked the online library and realized that it was outdated, about 1 year old. Zotero synced, but the Library did not include all the items that I had added during the last year—and there are many of them, and they are really important for finishing my PhD. :( So now I have a quite old Library. Bad news

(The storage is outdated for one of two reasons: 1. perhaps I failed to press “synch” 2. about a year ago the storage (2GB) became full (my library has about 3 GB of data, many pdfs). Just in case, this morning I updated the storage to 6GB. Of course, this does not fix the problem, but it may help if I am able to access to my old data.)

Therefore, in order to update my Zotero Library, I needed to use the data that is in my computer. I read this discussion: https://forums.zotero.org/discussion/30274/accidentally-lost-all-library/ Which helped me to find the data in my computer. Following its advice, I
copied my old “zotero.sqlite” into the old “zotero” folder (of the Zotero I installed this morning).