ZotFile - Advanced PDF management for Zotero

• I have added a github issue but I don't have plans to do something about it right now. I thought about using file size for a moment but might also be problematic.
  • yourwelcome, your problem is solved in the current development version. I also posted on your original thread
  • Hi Joscha,

I'm new at using zotfile. I want to use the wildcards option but I cannot make it work with the firefox addon. In about:config I cannot find zotfile.wildcards.default, and even when I define zotfile.wildcards.user following your example, I cannot make it work.

Is there a way of debugging the wildcards?
  • edited January 15, 2014
    note that's a Zotfile 3.1 version feature - it's not up on mozilla add-ons yet, you'll have to build it yourself as per
    https://github.com/jlegewie/zotfile#installation
  • Hi, is there any way to change the length of time the Zotfile pop-up box remains on-screen? I would like it there longer.
  • Hello,
    I'm just trying to set up my existing database (Bibtex) and pdf collection for use in Zotero. Unfortunately I had to learn that Zotero cannot use an existing pdf collection as it is and will copy it into its own (rahter hidden) filesystem. But then I was lucky to find out that zotfile is able re-export these pdfs, even without renaming (found the option ;-). Now my only problem is that if a pdf file is already existing in the destination directory, zotfile will double it, e.g. "Panio.2012.pdf" is existing, I get a "Panio2.pdf" file in the same subdirectory.
    Is there any option that will make zotfile NOT copy the file if it is already pre-existing ? I know this is dangerous, but might be helpful in the case that a pre-existing pdf collection has been imported into Zotero, and should be re-exported to work with linked files.
    I hope this is clear (it's friday late-afternoon ;-)
    Cheers
    Oliver