Requests from an organic chemist

- Image-based browsing of references
As an organic chemist, my primary means of recognizing papers of importance are by seeing the structures and transformations involved in graphical format; text-to-structure conversion in my head is inherently slow and sometimes impossible. When browsing online journals (Which consists of a ~large~ portion of my daily activities), my eye goes directly to the image indicating the subject of the paper.
In regards to Zotero, I have already been extensively storing the interesting or useful papers into my own personal library, annotating them in Acrobat Std as necessary. The more references I collect (even with effective organization) makes it very difficult to distinguish which papers are significant.
I would find the ability to display these images alongside the article title and author immensely useful. If Zotero cannot identify this image itself, I would be happy to copy and paste an image link for each reference for it to download. If coding this into the present text-based article list pane is too problematic, a separate generated page (ie dynamic html generation, etc) that is browseable would be wonderful.

- primary author specification
This is absolutely critical for Zotero to reach full effectiveness for my research; so much of what an article represents depends upon the individual research program of the leading professor. I need to be able to sort my papers by primary author. If Zotero cannot dynamically parse this, then I need the ability to specify it manually.

(personal, not inherently organic chemistry:
- external pdf reader integration
I use Adobe Acrobate Std to annotate my pdfs with markings to point out the important parts frequently. When pdfs are stored in Zotero, it would be very convenient to have a button that opens them in the default external reader, rather than within firefox)
  • Re: Primary Author