Using Notes DURING WRITE UP of paper

I'm fairly new to Zotero, so maybe I'm overlooking the obvious. When I have my Word document open, and I want to start writing my paper, well, Zotero lives in FireFox, not in my open Word doc. So, how do I access all my Notes ?? I realize there is a convenient Word Plug-in for citations & bibliography. My question is more mundane: Getting my Notes visible and available DURING THE WRITING PROCESS (not during collecting from sites). Thanks in advance for this newby question- hopefully others may have wondered this.
  • Hm. Let me get this straight: Seems that Zotero is a great collection tool, but then when it comes time to write . . . Seems you have to print off a "Note report" and work from it. Is that right? . . .It sure would be nice if FireFox could open an MS Office doc. Then you write and have Zotero open along the bottom of your Word doc. . . then the 3 X 5 cards are truly replaced in the writing process. . .
  • Seems you have to print off a "Note report" and work from it. Is that right? . . .It sure would be nice if FireFox could open an MS Office doc.
    The reports are in HTML, and Word opens HTML, so you can already do that yourself. Try it.

I use Zotero for note-taking and for writing. There is a significant cognitive hiccup that accompanies having to move back-and-forth between a word-processor and a bibliographic database like Zotero. But I don't think it's much better to have to switch documents.

I've long been saying that the ideal implementation uses a browser from within the word-processor, with optional features like auto-filtering based on surrounding document content.

But that has certain implementation challenges I suppose.
  • bradco: You might also try using Google Docs, then you use Zotero and your document in the same window. With Google Docs you can then also just drag and drop your references in. See Google Docs Screencast.