MLA Footnotes

I am new to Zotero (switching from Endnote) and I have not yet been able to figure out how to generate an MLA-style footnote in Word 2007. Is this possible? I keep getting in-text citation format instead.

Thank you for any help you can provide.
  • MLA is usually not a footnoted style - if you can link to a guide of how footnotes in MLA should look that would most likely be easy to do, though.
  • Thank you for your quick response. Here is a link to a PDF that has a fairly complete explanation for the MLA's footnote and endnote formats.

http://www.utoledo.edu/library/help/guides/docs/MLAstyle.pdf

Thank you for your help.
  • I second this request.

There are papers that require footnotes instead of endnotes in the MLA format.

Here is a link to a page that explains it quite well: http://www.aresearchguide.com/7footnot.html
  • +1

I would very much like to see this style implemented. The URL that TabletFreak referenced above looks like a very good resource.

I tried my hand at coding it myself but failed miserably.

Anyone able to help, please?
  • Has this been implemented? While MLA is not a footnoted style it does allow for footnotes and Zotero gets the formatting wrong if citations are inserted in footnotes.
  • How great is the divergence from the endnote MLA style, and if it's in the ballpark, what are the specific differences? If the footnoted style is very different, you'll need to either build the style yourself, or find someone who knows (or can learn) the style, and knows (or can learn) CSL. If the differences are relatively minor, and you're willing to do the necessary tweaks yourself, the forums are a good source of advice.
  • edited January 9, 2011
    What I am trying to achieve doesn't seem to work with either footnotes or endnotes in NeoOffice. For example, if I insert a footnote/endnote in the body, the note should read something like the following: