Multi-volume Books

Hi,

I have been using Zotero for about 6 months now and I like it. I do have a question about how you input books with 2 or more volumes. It seems that if you enter the number of volumes into the category for volumes it doesn't not ask or export that information into a footnote or bibliographic citation. How do you do this without entering each volume individually? Does Zotero do this?

Also I have noticed for the Chicago Manual of Style 15th edition, Zotero does not place commas in the correct places or does not place them at all. Is there a fix for that? I am running the latest and greatest version at the moment.

Thanks,

Victor
  • edited January 31, 2008
    Victor--which Chicago style are you using and are you using a public style or a development style? They've been updated at different times. Chicago note w/o bibliography and Chicago Full Note w/ Bibliography in the Dev section should cite number of volumes and volume number: http://www.zotero.org/styles/

Please give examples of citations where commas are placed incorrectly so we can fix the styles.

Thanks!
  • Erazlogo,

Thanks for the info but that doesn't really answer my question about the volume numbers. When you enter the information are you only enter the book once in the section marked Volume do you put 1 thru 3 (if there are three volumes) or are you adding the book 3 times and each time putting a 1,2,or 3 into the section for volumes to distinguish it from the other books?

As for the type of citation used it has been the Chicago Full note w/ Bibliography. As to whether they were public or development style I have no idea. I used the style that was provided in the program.

Here is an example of a missing comma for a work with a full Bibliography. The first example is how it appeared in my paper, the second is how Chicago Manual of Style 15th edition wants it.
    Mack Smith, Modern Italy: A Political History 258
    Mack Smith, Modern Italy: A Political History, 258.