Zotero standalone 2.1a2 sqlite version recognition problem

Hi,

First of all, thank you very much for releasing an alpha for our perusal. Either for your information or comment I am having a problem running zotero due to recognition of my sqlite version. When I start zotero I get a box popping up which states "The application has been updated, but your version of SQLite is too old and the application cannot run". I have tried both the prebuilt version and built my own. I have a reasonable amount of experience with programming and linux however, I am perfectly happy to state that I am not a developer but am willing to try.

I am running fedora 14, "sqlite -version" gives 2.8.17 and "sqlite3 -version" gives 3.7.4. I assume that zotero is recognising sqlite rather than sqlite3 and I can't find where/how to change this.

Thank you again for zotero standalone, I would be grateful for any help you can give but I certainly don't expect it as this is an alpha version.

Thanks again

Tom
  • Did you access the Zotero database in a recent SQLite 3 client?

Neither Zotero for Firefox nor Zotero for Standalone have anything at all to do with the command-line client—the SQLite library is built in to Firefox/XULRunner. If you opened the database in a recent command-line version it could upgrade the database past what the built-in version can support, though.

Nobody has ever reported this, so it seems pretty likely that this is something you did.
  • Thank you for responding, this is certainly interesting then. I don't think I've opened the database in any client apart from zotero 2.1b4 (which still works) and I also installed the pre built client on another f14 computer and have exactly the same problem even though this computer has never had zotero installed on it.