How to install Zotero Everywhere in Ubuntu 10.04?

Thanks for releasing the brand new version of Zotero Everywhere as a standalone application.

However, I am unable to install this in Ubuntu 10.04. I have downloaded the tar version, extracted it and run zotero executable.

I do get to see the "Welcome to Zotero Notification" and the stand alone application.

Yet, where to install the application so that I could run it from the menu itself and save the pdf's that need to be associated with it.

Why couldn't the developers release this as a .deb file prepackaged? I even tried to make a deb file using checkinstall but it failed. I am sure it does not take a lot of effort but if the developers are really smart, they could have easily set up a ppa for the same and given instructions. As soon as the new features are rolled into it, the users installing ppa would get notified immediately.

Somethings are made simpler by simple common sense. I am not a techie to "make install"; I need to devote time to get things done and not make things complicated.
  • The packaging for Linux and Windows is currently a problem; it works, but not in the way that users are used to. This alpha release just gets Standalone out the door and on the desktops of eager users. I've filed a ticket for this (https://www.zotero.org/trac/ticket/1761), and I'm sure it'll be cleared up by the final release of Standalone.
  • I need to devote time to get things done and not make things complicated.
    Then don't run alpha software.
  • edited January 17, 2011
    Also:
    Yet, where to install the application so that I could run it from the menu itself and save the pdf's that need to be associated with it.
    Getting an arbitrary program into the programs menu is really your business—presumably you should know how to do that on your OS of choice.