advice on creating a History "Evidence Style"

I am new to zotero. I was working on a historical evidence reference citing style based on Elizabeth Shown Mills' book "Evidence Explained". In fact, before I discovered zotero, I wrote a little Fortran code (yeah, I know...) that used html like style templates for the 170 types (with the 3 of each: Biblio, First, Subsequent) and render them in rtf when the appropriate style's variables are provided. Then I was learning Java (for its platform independent GUI and to recode the Fortran in it) to do what zotero has done beyond my wildest dreams.

So, I want to abandon my approach and try to define an Evidence Style in zotero. I have poked around, and have found in the jar file the csl styles, etc. The closest style to what I want is Chicago Manual of Style (Full Note With Bibliography). Also called CMOS Humanities Style, I am told. I have imported a slightly marked up csl style, and am on the way to learning more.

But I don't want to abandon my data model. It seems like it is more general than zotero currently allows, and could be used for any style. Anyway, I think I'm about to hit a brick wall on what can be done in style files (csl) vs. having to modify parts of the code that one shouldn't modify.

There are 12 categories of evidence (currently, it will likely grow with time) for a total of 170 category types (each of the 12 have a varying number of subcategories). Each subcategory has a formatting template that contains its own special list of items (parameters). I have 531 item types (variables) that are used in the 170 x 3 reference types. Remember, all worked out before I discovered zotero, so I had no constraints, and my model seemed practical and minimalist, at least to me.

I found in zotero.properties about 36 itemTypes and a lot of itemFields. But it seems that one is locked into using only them.

Is that correct?