Mark as read/Sort after "read"/Note pagenumber/Colorize Entries/CrossRef/Spell Check

Hi!

I am new to Zotero and after working a little with it, I was missing the above stated features. I wonder how you solve this:

How do keep track of where you can get the books from?

How do you keep track of which books you have read an which not?

Why can't you add a page number to a note, identifying it's position?

Wouldn't it be great to colorize items in order to prioritize them?

I now this has been discussed, but I really would like to have the crossref feature where chapters of books are really linked to a certain book (and change things when I change things in the specific book).

A small issue: I try to use the spell checker add-on within firefox, but it doesn't really work in the editor since it blocks my "right click" which would enable me to choose the right word...

Thank you!!
  • How do you keep track of which books you have read an which not?
    You should use tags ("read", etc...) and a saved search.
    http://www.zotero.org/support/tags
    http://www.zotero.org/support/finding_and_sorting#saving_searches
    I now this has been discussed, but I really would like to have the crossref feature where chapters of books are really linked to a certain book (and change things when I change things in the specific book).
    That's not possible. However you'd find the "related tab" useful: http://www.zotero.org/support/related
    A small issue: I try to use the spell checker add-on within firefox, but it doesn't really work in the editor since it blocks my "right click" which would enable me to choose the right word...
    That's a known "issue". The spell checker has been added recently to zotero (zotero 2.0.9)

Most of your requests have been discussed on the forum: I think that's a better idea to add your comments to the relevant thread.
  • Thanks for your answer!